Cedar County 4-H holds recognition night

Posted November 15, 2012 at 11:52 am

Cedar County 4-H held its annual recognition night Saturday, Nov. 3, in the Land O Lakes Youth Fairgrounds metal building. Each year the Cedar County 4-H program organizes an awards banquet to recognize the achievements made by our 4-H members and volunteers. This year we recognized over 60 youth for work they did in their 4-H projects and gave over 35 special awards to our outstanding youth and volunteers in the program.

There were many special awards handed out. First, our two outstanding 4-H leaders this year were Jeff Stacy and Shelly Schieffer. The Outstanding Leader awards are given to two leaders who have volunteered over five years to the Cedar County 4-H program. St. Clair County Bank was awarded the 2012 4-H Booster award as a business nominated based on their contributions to the Cedar County 4-H program. Brett Neil was the recipient of the 2012 Friend of 4-H award, nominated based on his outstanding support of the 4-H program here in Cedar County.

Six volunteers were recognized for their contributions to the 4-H program Teresa Floyd, Robert Hoffmann, and Michael McCullick were recognized for five years of service. Debbie Elder was recognized for 10 years of service. Beth Hacker and Glenda Van Bummel were recognized for 15 years of service.

There were thirteen 4-H members who received a Project Medallion for High Point in their project Area: Kaylee Lower- Arts and Crafts, James King- Computers, James King- Amphibians and Reptiles, Taylor Floyd- Photography, Avery Schiereck- Poultry, James King- Sport Fishing, Sarah King- Home Environment, Ben Vickers- Foods, Cheston Stacy- Shooting Sports, Claire Silvers- Beef, Claire Silvers- Horse, Glen Van Bummel- Goats, Glen Van Bummel- Sheep and Taylor Floyd- Swine.

Four members received a Project Trophy for an outstanding year in both leadership and project areas: Glen Van Bummel- Int. (Intermediate) Beef Overall Award, Claire Silvers- Sr. (Senior) Beef Overall Award, Avery Schiereck- Jr. (Junior) Poultry Overall Award, Taylor Floyd- Sr. Swine Overall Award, Glen Van Bummel- Int. Goat Award, Glen Van bummel- Int. Sheep Award, Avery Schiereck- Jr. Arts and Crafts Award, Avery Schiereck- Jr. Clothing Award, Taylor Floyd- Sr. Photography Award.

The top three members who had an outstanding 4-H year in both leadership and citizenship areas were recognized. They were: Avery Schiereck- Junior Leadership Award, Glen Van Bummel- Intermediate Leadership Award, and Taylor Floyd- Senior Leadership Award.

We would like to thank the following people and businesses for their donations: Diamond (Gifts of $200 or more) – Behavioral Healthcare of Rural Missouri, Inc.; Platinum (Gifts of $100 or more) – Hammons Black Walnuts, Superior Gearbox, St. Peter’s Knights of Columbus- Stockton, Mike Goetz, St. Johns Clinic of El Dorado Springs, FCS Financial; Gold (Gifts of $50 or more) – Stockton Variety, Sac Osage Electric; Silver (Gifts of $25 or more) – Sawyer Tire of Stockton, Stockton MFA, Zumwalt’s Pharmacy, Advantage Title, Sundae’s, Hillsman Farms, Snider Insurance; Bronze (Gifts up to $25) – Lakeside Interiors, Sonic of Stockton, McDonalds of El Dorado Springs, O’Reilly Auto Parts, Alli’s Floral Creations and Gifts.

Without the support of our sponsors, our 4-H program would not be what it is today.


4-H BOOSTER AWARD – Each year at the annual banquet, Cedar County 4-H recognizes a business which supports the program. This year 4-H honored St. Clair County Bank. Craig Johnson accepted the Booster Award which was presented by Claire Silvers.


4-H High Point project winners 3 cc .tif

4-H HIGH POINT PROJECT WINNERS – These are the winners of the medallions at the recent Cedar County 4-H Recognition Banquet for earning the high score in their respective 4-H project (from row, from left) Glen Van Bummel, Sarah King, James King and Avery Schiereck; (back row, from left) Claire Silvers, Taylor Floyd and Ben Vickers.

4-H Volunteers-Leaders 2 cc .tif

4-H VOLUNTEERS HONORED FOR YEARS OF SERVICE – At the Cedar County 4-H Recognition Banquet these three leaders were honored for their years of service: (from left) Terry Floyd and Robert Hoffman for five years and Glenda Van Bummel for 15 years.

Outstanding 4-H members 2cc .tif

OUTSTANDING 4-H MEMBERS – At the recent Cedar County 4-H Recognition night these three members were honored for their leadership: (from left) Avery Schiereck – Junior Division Leadership, Glen Van Bummel – Intermediate Division Leadership and Taylor Floyd – Senior Division Leadership.