Speech and Debate earns sweepstakes award

Posted November 15, 2012 at 12:23 pm

El Dorado Springs High School sent a Speech and Debate team to compete at the Nevada tournament on Nov. 2-3. This was an especially successful weekend for the team with the team bringing home five individual trophies, two individual medals, and their first-ever team award. The students placed 3rd in Sweepstakes, an exciting feat since El Dorado Springs was one of the smaller schools at the tournament. In team scores, Joplin and Carl Junction received 1st and 2nd, respectively.

Ten students competed from El Dorado Springs in the tournament, five of whom earned individual honors and earned points toward the Sweepstakes trophy.

Coach Nicole Smith explained, “I’m just thrilled with their success this weekend. I knew we were on the right track when we had almost every event filled with entries. To see the quality of performances the students had in addition to that just pushed us up to a winning position. It is exciting this year that our team has grown to a caliber that we are no longer relying on one performer to earn the trophies. Now we have a solid group leading our team.”

Trophies went to Allison Piatt (Sr.) – 1st in Lincoln-Douglas Debate, Michaela Leedy (Jr.) – 2nd in Storytelling and 2nd in Dramatic Interpretation, Sophia Marsh (Jr.) – 2nd in Humorous Interpretation and 3rd in Prose. Receiving medals were Sydney and Hannah Robertson (So.) – 5th in Duo Interpretation. Marsh was also one place away from advancing to finals in Lincoln-Douglas Debate, finishing 4th overall. Travis Cameron (So.) was also one place from finals, finishing 7th overall in Radio Speaking. Also competing was Trevor Hicks (Sr.) – 10th in Extemporaneous Speaking, Brenden Howell (Fr.) – 16th in Extemp, Brandon Compton (Jr.) – 15th in Prose and 12th in Poetry, and Emily Marbough (Sr.) – 12th in Radio.

The team will travel to Buffalo to compete in individual events on Nov. 17.


ElDo Speech and Debate wins sweepstakes 3 cc  .tif

SPEECH AND DEBATE WINS FIRST EVER TEAM AWARD – In the Nevada tournament Nov. 2-3, the El Dorado Springs team won its first team award. Team members are (from left, front row) Hannah Robertson, Sydney Robertson, Allison Piatt, Michaela Leedy and Sophia Marsh; (back row) Trevor Hicks, Brandon Compton, Travis Cameron, Brenden Howell and Emily Marbough.