Posted November 7, 2013 at 12:38 pm

Cedar County holds 4-H recogniton 3 cc.tif

– Cedar County 4-H Recognition was held Sunday, Oct. 27, in the Stockton Community Building. Each year the Cedar County 4-H program organizes an awards banquet to recognize the achievements made by our 4-H members and volunteers. This year we recognized over 50 youth for work they did in their 4-H projects and gave over 31 special awards to our outstanding youth and volunteers in the program.

There were many special awards handed out. First, our two outstanding 4-H leaders this year were Amanda Silvers and Terry Floyd. The Outstanding Leader awards are given to two leaders who have volunteered over five years to the Cedar County 4-H program. Evans Drug of El Dorado Springs was awarded the 2013 4-H Booster award as a business nominated based on their contributions to the Cedar County 4-H program. Brandon Neil was the recipient of the 2013 Friend of 4-H award and nominated based on his outstanding support of the 4-H program here in Cedar County.

Six volunteers were recognized for their contributions to the 4-H program Amanda Schiereck, Crystal Whitaker, and Ronald Pitts were recognized for five years of service. Andy Graves, Debra Vickers and Kris Marshall were recognized for 10 years of service.

There were eleven 4-H members who received a Project Medallion for High Point in their project Area: Glen Van Bummel- Sheep; Kaylee Lower- Beef; Lauren Ford- Horse; Glen Van Bummel- Goats; Austin Rieder- Wildlife; Reese Schiereck- Geology; Avery Schiereck- Poultry; Austin Rieder- Sport Fishing; Reese Schiereck- Entomology; Austin Rieder- Shooting Sports; Avery Schiereck- Arts and Crafts.

Eight members received a Project Trophy for an outstanding year in both leadership and project areas: Avery Schiereck- Junior Poultry Award; Glen Van Bummel- Intermediate Poultry Award; Avery Schiereck- Junior Arts and Crafts Award; Glen Van Bummel- Intermediate Goat Award; Reese Schiereck- Junior Geology Award; Glen Van Bummel- Intermediate Sheep Award; Kaylee Lower- Junior Beef Award; Reese Schiereck- Junior Entomology Award.

The top two members who had an outstanding 4-H year in both leadership and citizenship areas were recognized. They were: Avery Schiereck- Junior Leadership Award and Glen Van Bummel- Intermediate Leadership Award.

Without the support of our sponsors, our 4-H program would not be what it is today. We would like to thank Knights of Columbus- Stockton and Mercy Clinic- El Dorado Springs for their donations.