Lady Bulldogs claim first Warsaw Tournament Championship

Posted December 12, 2013 at 1:04 pm

Lady Bulldogs win Wasaw tournament 3cc.tif

The El Dorado Springs Lady Bulldog basketball team took the championship of the Warsaw tournament in a nail biter over the #1 seeded Skyline Lady Tigers.

On Monday, Dec. 2, the Lady Bulldogs traveled to Warsaw for the opening round of the Warsaw Tournament. The 2nd seeded Lady Bulldogs took on the 7th seeded Warsaw Lady Wildcats. The Lady Bulldogs took control of the game early by forcing multiple turnovers and scoring quickly in transition. The Lady Bulldogs kept up the defensive intensity the entire first half taking a 50-11 lead into the locker room.

The second half was very similar to the first with the Lady Bulldogs forcing turnovers and finishing with transition baskets to take a first round victory 92-17.

Leading the way for the Bulldogs were Alexa Schaaf with 20 pts. and Kameron Schaaf, Becky Jennings and Taylor Witt with 14 pts.

On Wednesday, the Lady Bulldogs traveled to Warsaw this time to take on the #3 seeded Butler Lady Bears. Once again the Lady Bulldogs were able to get out to an early lead by playing good defense and scoring in transition. The Lady Bulldogs scored 39 points in the first half taking a 13 point lead into the locker room.

In the second half, the Lady Bulldogs were able to hit from the outside hitting from the 3 point line four times in the third quarter. In the fourth quarter, the Bulldogs were able to shut down Butler’s offense holding them to 9 points and taking a 85-52 victory.

Leading the Bulldogs in scoring were Alexa Schaaf – 20, Kameron Schaaf – 15, Rachel Bush – 13, Madison Mays – 12 and Taylor Witt – 11.

On Friday, the Lady Bulldogs made their way to Warsaw to take on the #1 seeded Skyline Lady Tigers in the Championship game of the Warsaw Tournament. The Lady Bulldogs started out the game with an open 3, but then went multiple possessions without being able to score. The Lady Bulldogs stayed focused and were able to cut Skyline’s lead to one before Skyline hit a deep three to take a 4 point lead at the end of the first quarter.

In the second quarter, the Lady Bulldogs were able to match scores with the Lady Tigers with both teams scoring 19. For the first time this season the Lady Bulldogs trailed going into the half, down 29-33.

In the second half, both teams went on runs and both teams held leads as much as 5, but were never able to gain a greater advantage. In the final minutes of the fourth the Lady Bulldogs were able to take a three-point lead, but Skyline fired back hitting a three to tie the game up with one minute left. Kameron Schaaf was able to get to the basket and draw a foul with 50 seconds left. She stepped to the line and made both free throws to give ElDo a two point lead. Skyline came back once again and hit a three to take a one point lead with 30 seconds left in the game.

With 12 seconds left Alexa Schaaf attacked the basket and her layup attempt fell just short and Skyline secured the miss. The Lady Bulldogs pressured the ball. Kameron Schaaf forced the ball handler to give up the ball and Madison Mays read the pass intercepting it and feeding the ball to a wide open Alexa Schaaf for the layup to take a one point lead with three seconds left. Skyline was able to rush the ball down the court, but ran out of time before they were able to get a shot up.

The Lady Bulldogs captured the Championship with a final score 56-55 winning their first Warsaw Championship and ending Skyline’s eight year run.

Leading the Bulldogs in scoring on the night were Alexa with 20 pts. and Kameron 11pts.

Coach Beau Swopes said, “I was very proud of how well the girls played tonight. All the girls did an excellent job of matching Skyline’s intensity. “

Varsity girls basketball players are Alexa Schaaf, Madison Mays, Rachel Bush, Taylor Witt, Katie Bruggeman, Kameron Schaaf, Kinli Simmons, Becky Jennings, Hannah Kruckenburg, Cameron McPeak and Tessa Durnell.

Alexa Schaaf and Kameron Schaaf were both named to the All Tournament team.

WARSAW TOURNAMENT WINNERS – The El Dorado Springs Lady Bulldogs came home from the Warsaw tournament with the championshp trophy. Members of the winning team are: (front row, from left) Tessa Durnell, Cameron McPeak, Madi Mays, Hannah Kruckenberg and Rachel Bush; (back row) Coach Beau Swopes, Kinli Simmons, Kameron Schaaf, Taylor Witt, Katie Bruggeman, Alexa Schaaf, Becky Jennings, Coach Brian Koehler