DeHoyos, Smith and Riscoe listed as ‘Top Docs’

Posted March 20, 2014 at 4:29 pm

At the Monday, Feb. 17, board meeting of the Cedar County Memorial Hospital Board of Trustees, CEO Jana Witt mentioned that Cardiologist Dr. Jose DeHoyos, emergency room physicians Dr. Sean Smith and Dr. James Riscoe were listed by 417 Magazine in its list of peer selected “Top Doctors.” These three doctors are all on staff at Cedar County Memorial Hospital.

Trustees Cheri Allison, Johnny Walker, David Studer and Jan Neale were present with Judy Renn presiding. Also present were Witt, Hospital Attorney Bryan Breckenridge, Recording Secretary Terri Heitz, CFO Carla Gilbert, CNO Dixie Flynn and Judy Estes, a guest from Stockton. After a review of the January financial statement, the board approved accounts payable in the amount of $502,220.55.

The board approved medical staff privileges for David McGatha, FNP-C with Mercy Clinic and Derek Urban and Carlin Ridpath, Radiologists with Emergent Teleradiology. Flynn mentioned that congress has placed a six month extension on the enforcement of the two-midnight rule, which indicates if a patient stays in observation status stays for two midnights, they should have been admitted acute care in the first place.

Flynn also said that are two LPN openings on nights.

Cardiac Rehabilitation will be staffed by Lynn Fredrickson, RN, on a permanent basis beginning next week. Fredrickson had been filling in as Utilization Review, Safety and Quality Improvement Manager in the absence of Stephanie Miller, RN, who was deployed to Afghanistan and just recently returned from her tour of duty. Miller will return to CCMH on Feb. 24.

Gilbert mentioned that she had met with staff from Community Springs Nursing Home on Friday. They would like to discuss ideas for better communication between the CSNH and the Medical Mall Clinic.

Witt announced the CCMH Auxiliary plans to purchase two pressure reduction mattresses, a vital signs monitor for Med/Surg and two sleeper chair recliners for the patient rooms.

Witt said she had been notified by Madison Sibley with the El Dorado Springs High School DECA chapter, that CCMH will receive approximately $660 in proceeds from the Powder Puff Football Game that was held last fall. The money will be used to purchase an ipad with a case for the Speech Therapy Department.

The board voted to go into executive session.

There was no report from that session.

Dr. Sean Smith 3/4cc.tif

Dr. Smith


Dr. Jose DeHoyos 3/4cc.tif

Dr. DeHoyos


Dr. James Riscoe 3/4cc.tif

Dr. Riscoe