School Board rehires all administrators for 2014-2015

Posted March 27, 2014 at 7:06 pm

During executive session before the regular school board meeting on Feb. 13, the El Dorado Springs School Board voted to rehire all the administrators for the 2014-2015 school year; Theresa Christian, Dave Hedrick, Brad Steward, Tracy Lanser, Jeni Hearting, Kim Calvin and Brent Hillsman. Superintendent Mark Koca was rehired for 2014-2015 in January. The board also approved Justin Stratton for Middle School track coach and accepted the resignation of Elementary Special Ed. Teacher Kalee Wisner effective at the end of the school year.

All School Board members were present: Benny Bower, Kevin Fast, Greg Beydler, Walter Anderson, Allen Hoover, Scott Cluck and Darrrell Eason. Superintendent Mark Koca was present as was Board Secretary Tanya Molz.

In open session, the board approved the calendar amendments for snow days and approved a calendar amendment for March 28 for the spring parent/ teacher conference.

There was also a discussion of a policy for a two hour inclement weather start time. Superintendent Koca said that there were several days during the recent extreme weather that two hours would have made the difference in being able to hold school.

They also discussed a policy concerning bringing outside food and drink in to ball games.

Some of the capital improvements and summer maintenance list includes; begin replacing the 1959 elementary doors, replacing the exterior doors to the Middle School locker rooms, clearing the Morlan property, relocating discus throwing area to level ground and break-away elbows on the gas lines on the roof. Other projects if time and budget allow include relocating softball fences, band room instrument storage cabinets, purchase a skid-steer and metal building for grounds equipment storage.

There are several items left over from the 2010- 2011 school year as well as years 2011-2012 and 2012-2013.