ElDo FFA teams to State Thursday

Posted April 24, 2014 at 11:28 am

By FFA Reporter Landon Leonard

The El Dorado Springs FFA is all geared up for their appearance at the 86th Annual State FFA Convention April 24th-25th in Columbia, MO. A large contingent of state-qualifying teams, State FFA Degree recipients and proficiency award recipients will proudly represent our chapter at the event, which boasts an annual attendance of over 8,000 members and guests.

In the Career Development Event division, our chapter qualified five teams this year at districts in Springfield. The teams are and district rankings are: Nursery and Landscaping (8th of 25); Entomology (5th of 36); Ag Mechanics (3rd of 26); Meats (2nd of 32); Floriculture (1st of 37). Top 10 individuals in these events included: Dennis Floyd, 3rd Meats; Claire Silvers, 6th Meats; Gage Miller, 1st Ag Mechanics; Chandler Allison, 8th Ag Mechanics.

In the Leadership division, the Parliamentary Procedure team composed of Chairman McKensi Marshall, Sandra May, Cameron McPeak, Kameron Schaff, Jake Hillsman and Kinli Simmons, qualified with a final district placing of 4th. Greenhand Cullen May placed second in the Creed Speaking Division with his rousing edition of the FFA Creed.

Our FFA chapter qualified its maximum number of State Degrees allowed, with seven members being recognized at State. Members are: Makenzie Schwalm, Wyatt Greenstreet, Dennis Floyd, Claire Silvers, McKensi Marshall, Chandler Allison and Sandra May. State Degree recipients are very balanced members with high achievement in SAE project dollars earned and invested, FFA leadership points and overall scholastic excellence. Shelby Barger and Wyatt Greenstreet, as area proficiency winners, will be representing us in the Proficiency Division, with Barger in Horticulture Placement and Greenstreet in Specialty Crop Production.

The trip to Columbia will be packed with fun and excitement, yet all El Dorado Springs FFA members recognize this is a business engagement, as we take the competitive events within our organization very seriously. A unique feature in this year’s itinerary will include the induction of Claire Silvers as a State FFA Officer for 2014-15 school year; the entire State-bound group will attend this very special ceremony.

The El Dorado Springs FFA would like to thank all of our supporters that have helped us get to this level; we couldn’t do it without you. This is a great agricultural community, and we hope we make you all proud April 24th and 25th.

Nursery Landscape 2cc.jpg

NURSERY LANDSCAPE – Kale Adams, Caleigh Gardener, Shelby Barger and Landon Leonard.

State Degrees 3cc.jpg

STATE DEGREES – Makenzie Schwalm, Mckensi Marshall, Chandler Allison, Dennis Floyd, Wyatt Greenstreet, Sandra May and Claire Silvers.

Creed 1cc.jpg

CREED – Cullen May – FFA Choir

Floriculture 2cc.jpg

FLORICULTURE – Blade Kalleck, Andrea Nikodim, Sandra May and Jacob White.

Parliamentary Procedure 2cc.jpg

PARLIAMENTARY PROCEDURE – Kameron Schaaf, Jake Hillsman, Mckensi Marshall, Cameron Mcpeak, Kinli Simmons and Sandra May.

Proficiency Degrees 2cc.jpg

PROFICIENCY DEGREES – Shelby Barger and Wyatt Greenstreet.

Entomology 2cc.jpg

ENTOMOLOGY – Rylee Schuchman, Courtney Miller, Jessica Colbert and Olivia Hallford.

Ag Mechanics 2cc.jpg

AG MECHANICS – Chandler Allison, Gage Miller, Devin Melton and Turner Fugate.

Meats 2cc.jpg

MEATS – Claire Silvers, Morgan Sumner, Dennis Floyd and Tyler Janes.