by Neoma Foreman

Northeast Vernon County (NEVC) has many talented students and dedicated teachers as was evidenced at the banquet at the high school Tuesday evening. This is just a sampling of those receiving honors.

Alberta Hays, Secretary of the NEVC Booster Club welcomed the group and then they enjoyed dinner catered by Chicken Annie’s before the award ceremony.

Mrs. Allard presented the Junior High Basketball girls. Outstanding Character Award – Charity Middleton, Most Valuable Player – Cray Hutchison, Defensive-Kersten Trueblood, Offensive-Danica Davis, Most Improved – Emma Bruce, Hustle-Jaden George.

Mr. Burlingame and Mrs. Allard gave Varsity awards: 7-8th- Offensive – Tryton Rader, Most Valuable Player – Garrett Culbertson. Girls basketball – All conference, Lydia Longstreth, McKinsey Conner, Lady Knights Leadership-Andrea Halcomb and McKinsey Conner. Most Improved – Kylie Alexander. Hustle – Brittany Trueblood. Heart of Lady Knights – Kylie Gerster. Player of Year – Hannah Rogers. Offensive Player of Year – Lydia Longstreth. Most Valuable Player – McKinsey Conner.

Boys Basketball Varsity: All Conference: Justin Culbertson, Derrick Keith, Elijah Buttorff – all-district. Leadership – Elijah Buttorff and Ezra Huddleston. Most Improved-Tyler Jackson, Boys Hustle-Ezra Huddleston. Heart of the Knight Award – Jaxon Prough. Defensive Player of Year-Justin Culbertson, Offensive-Derrick Keith, Most Valuable Player – Elijah Buttorff.

Digital Art Awards presented by Mr. Bachand were to Kylie alexander, Mary Thoreson, and Alex Hauf. 7th – Moriah Ashby and 8th Jaden George. Top student – Charity Middleton.

Mrs. Bybee – FACS/Business FCCLA, FBLA – Kylie Alexander, Kelly Dade, Moriah Ashby, Cray Hutchison, Emma Bruce, Kersten Trueblood, Kirsten Lusk, Lydia Longstreth,

Mr. Burlingame-English – 7th grade- Charity Middleton. Academic Student of Year – Freshman-Kylie Alexander.

Ms Cain – Math-Breanna Hensley, Braden Alexander, Alex Hauf, Kylie Alexander, McKinsey Conner, Hannah Rogers, Elijah Buttorff, Kelly Dade.

Ms Conner-Softball girls-Most hits and home runs-Kiley Gerster. Ciarra Alexander – Most Versatile. Mary Thoreson, Emily Darco, Kerstin Diamond, Brittany Trueblood, Hannah Davis, Maggie Trystman – Team Spirit. MVP-McKinsey Conner.

Mr. Davis-Music-Charity Middleton, Eden Coleman, Emma Bruce, Elijah Buttorff, Amber Weisensee, Emma Pritchett, Joyce Fox, Brittany Trueblood, Elijah Buttorff.

Mr. Gray – Math, Science-Eden Coleman, Charity Middleton, Brooklyn Foreman, Kirsten Trueblood.

Mrs. McGrath – English – 25,000 novel-Kylie Alexander, Creative Writing Novel-Emma Pritchett. Short Story-Brittany Trueblood. Madyson Ashby-Poetry. Yearbook: Aaron Gaines, Mary Thoreson, Andrea Halcomb. Other English award winners – Alex Hauf, Jaxon Prough, Braden Alexander, Hannah rogers, Quinton Hays. Emma Pritchett – top award. Kelly Dade – top scorer.

Jaxon Prough, Andrea Halcomb, Corey Graham and Kelly Dade were recognized for not being tardy all year.

Mrs. Tabor-Spanish – Mary Thoreson, Andrea Halcomb, Mariah Ashby, Katrina Gilpin, Jaxon Prough with highest grade point average. Kylie Alexander and Alex Hauf received top honors.

Mrs. Mott and Mrs. Boland recognized the Volleyball girls with McKinsey Conner, Emma Bruce, and Kelly Dade being all-state winners.

Mr. Tabor – Social Studies, Honor Society — McKinsey Conner, Andrea Halcomb, Emma Pritchett, Kelly Dade, Jadean Pippin, Jaxon Prough, Alex Hauf, Katrina Gilpin, Hannah Rogers, Madyson Ashby. Mr. Tabor also started a Chess Club with about 30 students. These received awards: Wesley Fortyce, Alex Hauf, Crystal and Rachel Stone and Noah Hadsell.

Social Studies: Charity Middleton, Emma Pritchett, Kerstin Trueblood, Jaxon Prough, Elijah Buttorff, Alex Hauf – Outstanding SS Award, Kylie Alexander, Hannah Rogers.

Mr. Wagner – Science, DC History – Alex Hauf, Kylie Alexander, Kelly Dade.

There was a whole group of students who had missed less that two days, but I couldn’t begin to get all their names. Christopher Weisensee, Alex Hauf, and McKinsey Conner didn’t miss a day. Cierra Alexander, Emma Pritchett, and Quinton Hays only missed a few hours in their entire junior and high school years.

Mr. Wagner presented the Athletics of the Year: McKinsey Conner and Elijah Buttorff.

Mr. Naas – Students of the year: Junior High – Kirsten Trueblood. High School – Joe Whalen.

The baseball awards were not given as they are still trying to finish the year.