“El Dorado Springs had a cool but beautiful day for the 2016 Christmas Parade on Saturday. There were 65-70 participating businesses, churches, equestrians, civic, youth groups and others in the ‘Hollywood Christmas’ Parade. The day drew a very large crowd that was spread over several blocks along Main Street through the Wonder City’s downtown. We had several comment that this was one of the best Christmas parades in a very long time. There were some folks from out of town that remarked that it rivals their larger communities. So we are very happy about this year’s event,” Chamber of Commerce Executive Director Jackson Tough said.

Category winners included the following:


Grand Prize Winner – Skate Town; 2nd – Community Springs Health Care; 3rd – Cedar County Memorial Hospital


1st – Community Church; 2nd – First Baptist Church


1st – Lions Club; 2nd – Nine Wonders Optimist Club; 3rd – El Dorado Springs Optimist Club


1st – EHS FFA Chapter Students; 2nd – Girl Scouts; 3rd – EHS/EMS Journalism Students

The El Dorado Springs Chamber of Commerce wishes to thank the corporate sponsors of the 2016 Christmas Parade. Gold Sponsors include Evans Drugs, Shelter Insurance, Fugate Motors, Dairi Concepts of El Dorado Springs, State Farm Insurance and Woods Supermarket.

Silver Sponsors include Mike & Joe’s Service Station, Cedar County Memorial Hospital, Mid Missouri Bank, Paul Miller Construction, Physician’s Medical, Heritage State Bank, Santa Paula Awning, Community Bank, Brower Real Estate, Sonic Drive In, Mercy Clinic, LCN Graphics, Wilkinson Pharmacy and Shannon & Associates Real Estate & Auctioneers.

The Chamber appreciates our float prize sponsors including the El Dorado Springs Optimist Club, Wilbur’s Fireworks, Eagles, Lions Club and the VFW. The Chamber of Commerce extends a special thank you to Ron and Janet Swopes, Circle S Feed Store for hosting Santa Claus while he was in El Dorado Springs.

The Chamber also thanks the City of El Dorado Springs for their cooperation, the Lions Club for parade traffic control, J. Beaty Farm Equipment for the trailer/stage, co-MC Paula Newman, and all the businesses, churches, youth groups and civic organizations that participated in the parade. Vicki Hillsman was chairperson of the Chamber of Commerce Crafts & Home-Based Business Expo which adds so much to the festivities for a third year. The 2016 Christmas Parade committee includes Jami Carpenter-McCullick, Jana Dody, Toshua McCormick, Neil Linsenmayer, Mark Parshall and Peggy Snodgrass.

Remember to shop local this holiday season. Merry Christmas from your El Dorado Springs Chamber of Commerce.