The Sac-Osage Retired School Employees Association announces the 2020-2021 recipients of the Nellie Nicholas Memorial Teaching Scholarship.

This year’s scholarship winners are Khara Burley, majoring in Elementary Education at God’s Bible School and College, Cincinnati, OH; Samantha Cox, majoring in Elementary Education at Missouri State University; Amy Ford, majoring in Ag Education at College of the Ozarks; Tyler Goatley, majoring in Math Education at Southwest Baptist University; Tailor Hutsell, majoring in Special Education at Central Methodist University; and Melissa Whitaker, majoring in Ag Education at Missouri State University.

Mrs. Nicholas, a long time elementary teacher and counselor, left a portion of her estate to high school graduates of El Dorado Springs who are pursuing a teaching degree at a four year college.

Established in 2014, the scholarship fund has handed out $148,055 to local students. Each of this year’s recipients received $3381 to be divided between two semesters.

Facebook Comments