On Tuesday, April 9, the El Dorado Springs High School track team hosted their one and only home track meet. The weather turned out to be incredible for great performances. And the ElDo Bulldog squads didn’t disappoint.

On the girls side, the 4 x 800 meter relay, consisting of Tatum Quinlan, Christian Steuck, Riley Lee and Audrey Goatley finished 1st with a time of 10:37.19. Sophomore Kalen Post finished 3rd in the 100 m. Hurdles with a time of 17.18 followed closely by teammate Braley Steward in 5th with a time of 18.63. The duo would also run the 300 meter hurdles, which saw Braylie get 4th with a time of 51.52 followed by Kalen in 7th with a time of 55.31. Lainey Dody led the way for the sprinters finishing 2nd in the 100 m. dash with a time of 13.24 followed by a 2nd place finish in the 200 with a time of 27.51. McKinli Mays brought home a pair of wins, winning the 400 m. dash with a time of 1:00.59 and then winning the triple jump with a jump of 32’8.5”. Neely Schaaf finished just behind teammate McKinli in the 400, finishing 2nd with a time of 1:04.20. Tatum Quinlan finished 8th in the 800 meter run with a time of 2:43.15. Audrey Goatley finished 2nd in the 1600 m. run with a time of 5:46.19 followed by a win in the 3200 m. run with a time of 12:38.53. The 4 x 200 m. Relay, consisting of Braylie Steward, Neely Schaaf, Lainey Dody and McKinli Mays won with a time of 1:50.91. The same foursome, then went on to win the 4 x 400 with a time of 4:15.32. Overall, everyone competed well and at the end of the day, the girls team found themselves atop the leaderboard, winning the team title out of 26 teams in attendance.

On the boys side, the 4 x 800 m. Relay, consisting of Logan Fisk, Wyatt Klaiber, Braxton Watts and Will Seitz followed the girls lead and won the event with a time of 8:32.96. Justin Brown led the way for the sprinters, winning the 100 m. dash in 11.04 then winning the 200 m. dash with a time of 22.39. Will Seitz also won the 400 m. dash with a time of 52.22. Braxton Watts finished 2nd in the 800 m. run with a time of 2:06.93. Wyatt Klaiber went on to win the 1600 m. run with a time of 4:42.26. Shane Fletcher went on to place 7th in the 3200 m. run with a time of 11:01.92. Kolton Nichols finished 5th in the 300 m. Hurdles with a time of 45.08. Russell Ferguson finished 4th in the Javelin throw with a throw of 135’9.25”. Then the boys 4 x 400 m. Relay, consisting of Justin Brown, Wyatt Klaiber, Braxton Watts and Will Seitz wrapped up the night for the Bulldogs with a win in a season best time of 3:30.15. In the end, the boys team ended up finishing 3rd as a team behind Clinton and Lamar.

Overall, this was a great day for the Bulldogs. There were a lot of schools here and a lot of great competition and the Bulldogs rose to the occasion. It was a great way to cap off Senior Night as we honored our 8 seniors: Darren Burchett, Matthew Esparza, Blake Loane, Kolton Nichols, Kyan Roberts, Nathan Saderstrom, Christian Steuck and Manager, Cailey Cartwright. We wish them the best as they wrap up the 2024 track season, and also as they venture to the next chapter in their lives. They will be greatly missed.

Next up for the Bulldogs, is a track meet at Lamar on Thursday, April 18 followed by a big meet on Tuesday, April 23 at SBU, then we wrap up the regular season with our conference championship meet in Sherwood on Friday, April 26. It is a great time to be a BULLDOG! GO BULLDOGS!

Facebook Comments