Congratulations to Tabitha Culbertson and Shelly Loane, El Dorado Springs Elementary School, for each receiving $500 MRTF grants awarded in MRTA Region 6.
On Thursday, Aug. 18, Tabitha Culbertson and Shelly Loane were each presented a $500 classroom grant. They were presented with a large replica check for $500, a “real” check made out to the recipient and the school, and a letter from MRTA Executive Director, Maria Walden, and MRTF President Karen Miller.
MRTF (Missouri Retired Teachers Foundation) is the charitable arm of the Missouri Retired Teachers Association and Public School Personnel, and is a 501 (C) (3) tax exempt charitable corporation. Application deadline for the grant was June 30, and winners were to be awarded their $500 checks by Sept. 15. Grant applications were to include a title and description, a purpose of the project, a plan of action and a budget. The winners were chosen by a panel of retired teachers. Applications were carefully studied to determine which best met the guidelines of MRTF. This year Region 6 of the MRTA presented nine classroom grants and two PEERS grants.
Members of Missouri Retired Teachers Association (MRTA), Missouri Retired Teachers Foundation (MRTF), members of both Boards, Region 6 Vice President Virgilene Cook, all the retired school personnel across the state of Missouri who have raised this money through their fundraising efforts, congratulates Tabitha Culbertson and Shelly Loane from El Dorado Springs Elementary School and commends them for their grant-writing skills. They submitted excellent grant applications that judges determined to be worthy of the grant.
The MRTF Grants are open to certified teachers and the PEERS grants are open to all non-certified school staff. Both teachers and PEERS staff are encouraged to complete an application for the $500 award. The next MRTF grant process will begin in the spring of 2023. For further information, click on the Foundation link found on the MRTA website at
Pictured, front row from left: Region 6 MRTA VP Virgilene Cook, El Dorado Elementary Assistant Principal Ashley Wolfe, the winners Tabitha Culbertson and Shelly Loane from El Dorado Springs Elementary School.
Back row, from left: Sac Osage Retired School Employees Association President Evelyn Boyle, Principal Jeremy Barger, and Superintendent Heath Oates.